Tel: +94 55 2226622

Academic Session 2020 Department of Export Agriculture

Academic Session 2020  Department of Export Agriculture

Department of Export Agriculture, Faculty of Animal Science and Export Agriculture organized an Academic Session (Academic Session 2020) for the first time as a collaborative event with the support of AHEAD project (ELTA-ELSE DPs). The event was held on February 06, 2020 at the University Premises. The Academic Session 2020 provided a scientific platform for the final year research students to present their research findings. Undergraduates of all three degree programmes of the Department of Export Agriculture: BScHons (Export Agriculture), BScHons (Tea Technology and Value Addition) and BScHons (Palm & Latex Technology and Value Addition).

Prof. J.L. RatnasekEra, Vice Chancellor, Uva Wellassa University, attended the event as the Chief Guest and the ‘Keynote Speech’ was delivered by Prof. D.P.S.T.G. Attanayaka from the Faculty of Agriculture and Plantation Management, Wayamba University of Sri Lanka. Prof. H.M.S.K. Herath, Head, Department of Export Agriculture welcomed all participants to the session giving an overview on the Academic Session 2020. Prof. J.L. Ratnasekera, Vice Chancellor and Prof. S.C. Jayamanne, Dean, Faculty of Animal Science and Export Agriculture addressed the gathering adding their best wishes. Dr. L.M.H.R. Alwis, Coordinator, Academic Session 2020 delivered the ‘Vote of Thanks’ in the inauguration.

The event was successfully completed under five tracks namely (1) Agribusiness Management, (2) Agricultural Economics, (3) Crop Production Technology, (4) Food Technology and (5) Processing Technology. Two parallel sessions were held for the Crop Production Technology and Food Technology given the high number of presenters. Altogether, 122 presentations were accommodated in the session and the evaluation was undertaken by an expertise panel selected for each track representing internal and external resource personnel.
Dr. R.M.S.D. Rathnayake presented research highlights of her PhD at the closing ceremony and the ‘Academic Session 2020’ ended up successfully with the awarding of 30 presenters with ‘Merit Awards’. Dr. M.G.P.P. Mahindarathne, Department Coordinator, AHEAD Project (ELTA-ELSE DPs), delivered the Concluding Remarks at the end.

Comments are closed.