Uva Wellassa University
Badulla, Sri Lanka
February 1-3, 2018

Welcome to 2nd International Research Symposium - IRSUWU2018

about irsuwu2018

Development that meets the entrepreneurship in a technology intensive context while processing of merging technology prowess and entrepreneurial talents and skills define technopreneurial development.

The ability of present to uphold this core value of technopreneurial development has so far not shown to be at a recognizable level. Research focused on value addition is therefore imperative in generating new knowledge, products, services and processes which are vital to devise new strategies to steer current resource base in order to protect, promote and to achieve key ideas of technopreneurial development.

Having realized this fundamental concept in facing societal challenges in the 21st century, Uva Wellassa University wishes to call for abstracts for its 2nd International Research Symposium on the theme “Emerging Technologies for an Innovative Green Economy”.

Key Dates

Abstract Submission (submit now)
   - July 17 to December 13, 2017
Notification of Acceptance of Abstract
   - Within 03 Weeks after Submission
Early Bird Registration Deadline (see more)
   - January 10, 2018
Symposium Dates
   - February 01 to 02, 2018

Chief Guest

Chief Guest
Chief Guest

Hon. A. D. S. Premajayantha is a member of parliament of Sri Lanka representing Colombo District, graduated from University of Colombo receiving Bachelor of Law in 1982 and pledged as an Attorny at Law in 1984. He obtained Masters in Public Administration from the University of Sri Jayewardenepura in 2004. As a politician, Mr Premajayantha has been presiding ministerial posts in education and technology related ministries since the beginning of his career as a member of parliament. For the first time when he was elected to the parliament in 2000 representing Gampaha District, he was offered the chair of Ministry of Education. Then he became the of Minister of Power and Energy in 2004 and followed by being the Minister of Petroleum Industries in 2010. Then Mr Premajayantha received as new ministry, which is still in technology related, he was appointed as the Minister of Environment and Renewable Energy in 2013. Since 2015, he has been the Minister of Technology and Research.

Guest of Honour

Guest of Honour
Guest of Honour

Prof Ajith de Alwis completed his Ph.D. at University of Cambridge, UK post completing his B.Sc. (Eng) degree at the University of Moratuwa. He also has an MBA from Post Graduate Institute of Management (PIM) of University of Sri Jayewardenepura. He is the recipient of numerous awards in recognition of his work, most notable being the Senior Moulton Medal of Institution of Chemical Engineers (UK), Danckwerts-Maxwell Award from University of Cambridge for the best PhD Thesis, University of Moratuwa Research Awards from 1997 to 2007. He is a Professor at the Department of Chemical and Process Engineering at the University of Moratuwa and is also the Director of the University of Moratuwa-Cargills Food Process Development Incubator. Served as the Chairman of Engineering Research Unit (ERU) of Univ of Moratuwa from 2005-7.  He was also the Science team leader for Sri Lanka Institute of Nanotechnology (SLINTEC) from its inception in 2008 to 2011, and Chairman of the National nanotechnology committee at NSF from 2011-2012. He is currently the Project Director of recently instituted Coordinating Secretariat for Science, Technology and Innovation (COSTI) Sri Lanka.

Keynote Speakers

Prof. Liyanage C. De Silva

Prof. Liyanage C. De Silva

Professor of Engineering
Dean, Faculty of Integrated Technologies
University of Brunei Darussalam
Prof. Girish Nath Jha

Prof. Girish Nath Jha

Professor of Computational Linguistics
Director, International Collaboration
Jawaharlal Nehru University
New Delhi
Prof. Shireen Assem

Prof. Shireen Assem

Agricultural Genetic Engineering Research Institute
Giza, Egypt


Minister of Science, Technology and Research of Sri Lanka

Platinum Sponsors


Research Award Sponsor


Gold Sponsors