Tel: +94 55 2226622

Internal Quality Assurance Unit (IQAU)



Guidelines documents and feedback forms are available for download

Guidelines for Moderation and second marking of examination – Download
Peer Observation of Teaching at Uva Wellassa University-Policy Document – Download
Peer Observation of Teaching –Form for documentation – Download
Student Feedback form – Practical – Download
Student Feedback form – Theory Lesson – Download
Student Feedback form –Field visits – Download

Important Links

Internal Quality Assurance Unit (IQAU)

Uva Wellassa University values the highest academic and professional standards, and aims to be internationally renowned University for the quality of teaching, learning facilities and educational experience presented to students. Our mission places students at the center, engaging them in collaborative learning in a supportive, well-resourced and conducive academic environment. In 2012, the Internal Quality Assurance Unit (IQAU) of Uva Wellassa University was established after a Senate approval to coordinate all QA related activities within the University yet, all the members of staff take personal responsibility for the quality of their contribution to the student learning experience.

IQAU of Uva Wellassa University oversees quality assurance for all new and existing degree programs, Faculties and units. IQUA ensures that the Uva Wellassa University operates in conformity with the Sri Lankan Qualification Framework and other standards set forth by Quality Assurance and Accreditation Councilof Sri Lanka. The University’s internal QA processes include degree program and module approval, student feedback, peer observation of academic teaching, external examiners, and periodic review of modules and degree programs. Faculty level QA activities are administered by a Faculty QA Cell headed by the Dean of the Faculty.

Management Committee

Dr. J.L.Ratnasekera – Chairman
Dr. S.R.W.M.C.J.K.Ranawana – Director
Prof. S.C. Jayamanne – Dean / Faculty of Animal Science & Export Agriculture
Prof. E.P.S.K.Ediriweera – Dean / Faculty of Science & Technology
Mr. G.H. Abeyweera – Dean / Faculty of Management
Dr. P.E. Kaliyadasa – Director / Staff Development Center (Head / Department of Export Agriculture)
Prof. P.M. Sirimanne – Faculty Coordinator / Faculty of Science & Technology
Dr. N.M.N. Nambapana – Faculty Coordinator / Faculty of Animal Science & Export Agriculture
Ms. Y.M.C. Guanaratne – Faculty Coordinator / Faculty of Management
Mrs. A.S. Siriwardana – Librarian
Mr. R. Sharveswara – Secretary of IQAU / Nominee of the Registrar (Senior Assistant Registrar / Examination Division
Ms. K.T.J. Perera – Nominee of the Bursar (Senior Assistant Bursar / Reporting)

Composition of Internal Quality Assurance Cells (IQACs)

IQAC/Faculty of Science & Technology
Prof. P.M. Sirimanne – Faculty Coordinator
Dr L.K. Naragammana – Representative (Science & Technology)
Dr. N.P. Premachandra – Representative (Mineral Resources & Technology)
Ms. S.P.H.S. Wickramarathna -Representative (Computer Science & Technology)
Mr. S.T.C.I. Wimaladharma -Representative (Industrial Information Technology)

IQAC/Faculty of Management
Mr. G.H. Abeyweera – Dean / Faculty of Management
Ms. Y.M.C. Gunaratne – Faculty Coordinator
Dr. P.H.T. Kumara – Head / Department of Public Administration
Dr. J.P.R.C. Ranasinghe – Head / Department of Management Science
Dr. H.R.N. Peiris – Representative (Hospitality, Tourism and Event Management)
Dr.H.M.W.M. Herath -Representative (Entrepreneurship and Management)

IQAC/Faculty of Animal Science & Export Agriculture
Prof. S.C. Jayamanne – Dean / Animal Science & Export Agriculture
Dr. N.M.N. Nambapana – Faculty Coordinator
Mr. N.P.P. Liyanage – Head / Department of Animal Science
Dr. P.E. Kaliyadasa – Head / Department of Export Agriculture
Dr. R.A.P.I.S. Dharmadasa – Representative (Export Agriculture)
Prof. H.M.S.K. Herath – Representative (Palm and Latex Technology & Value Addition)
Dr. K.G. Premathilaka -Representative (Tea Technology & value Addition)
Dr. D.C. Mudannayake -Representative (Animal Science)

IQAC/Administration and Finance Division
Ms. K.T.J. Perera – Coordinator
Mr. A.J.M.D.N.B. Nawela – Member / SAR-GA
Mr. R. Sharveswara – Member /SAR-Examinations
Ms. E.K.M.C. Egodage – Member / AR-HR
Ms. U.D. Perera – Member/SAR-SA
Mr. D.T.S. Geethdev – Member / AR-Payments